19 party-list groups to enter Congress

Published by rudy Date posted on April 22, 2009

MANILA, Philippines – Nineteen party-list groups that lost in the 2007 elections can now enter Congress after the Supreme Court (SC) voided the two-percent threshold in the distribution of party-list seats.

In declaring unconstitutional a provision in Republic Act 7941, the Party-List System Act, the SC opened 32 additional seats for the 19 party-list groups and others now in Congress.

Ruling from Baguio City, the SC also revised the formula of retired Chief Justice Artemio Panganiban granting a maximum of three seats to the party-list group that topped the elections.

In the new formula, the percentage of votes garnered by each party-list candidate is computed by dividing the number of votes garnered by each party by 15,950,900, the total number of votes cast for party-list candidates.

In effect, the SC has granted one seat each to the 19 party-list groups.

These are: Alagad, FPJPM, Uni-Mad, ABS, Kakusa, Kabataan, Aba-ako, Alif, Senior Citizens, AT, VFP, Anad, Banat, Ang Kasangga, Bantay, Abakada, 1-Utak, TUCP, and Cocofed. Banat, or Barangay Association for National Advancement and Transparency. – Edu Punay, Aurea Calica, Philippine Star

March – Women’s Month

“Every month should be women’s month.”


Solidarity with CTU Myanmar,
trade unions around the world,
for democracy in Myanmar,
with the daily protests of
people in Myanmar against
the military coup and
continuing oppression.


Accept National Unity Government
(NUG) of Myanmar.
Reject Military!

#WearMask #WashHands

Time to support & empower survivors.
Time to spark a global conversation.
Time for #GenerationEquality to #orangetheworld!
Trade Union Solidarity Campaigns
Get Email from NTUC
Article Categories