150 local bills enacted into law since 2010

Published by rudy Date posted on January 14, 2013

President Aquino has signed into law in the past two years 150 local bills that created 42 new high schools, two elementary schools, five congressional districts, and five component cities, House of Representatives Speaker Feliciano Belmonte said on Sunday.

He said local bills under the Aquino Administration focused on countryside development and not just on simply renaming streets and highways all over the country.

“Focusing on human resource development, among others, is being true to our mandate as representatives of the people,” Belmonte said.

The five congressional districts were created in Quezon City, North Cotabato, Bukidnon and Palawan. Quezon City now has six districts, three districts each for North Cotabato and Palawan, while Bukidnon, which used to be a lone district, now has two districts.

The five component cities include Bacoor and Imus in Cavite, Cabuyao in Laguna, Mabalacat in Pampanga and Ilagan in Isabela.

The new high schools were created in Iloilo, Sorsogon, Bulacan, Aurora in Davao Oriental, Mountain Province, Zamboanga del Sur, Batangas, Leyte, Zamboanga del Norte, Marikina, Nueva Vizcaya, Davao Oriental, Camiguin, Camarines Sur and Southern Leyte. –Christine F. Herrera, Manila Standard Today

April – Month of Planet Earth

“Full speed to renewables!”


Solidarity with CTU Myanmar,
trade unions around the world,
for democracy in Myanmar,
with the daily protests of
people in Myanmar against
the military coup and
continuing oppression.


Accept National Unity Government
(NUG) of Myanmar.
Reject Military!

#WearMask #WashHands

Time to support & empower survivors.
Time to spark a global conversation.
Time for #GenerationEquality to #orangetheworld!
Trade Union Solidarity Campaigns
Get Email from NTUC
Article Categories