TUCP holds 8th National Convention, Elects new president and officers

Published by rudy Date posted on July 5, 2016

Some 1,000 delegates, guests, and observers attended the 8th National Convention on 1 May 2016 in Quezon City, with the theme “Towards Decent Work and Equitable Development”, in compliance with the Court of Appeals Order (CA-G.R. SP No. 130863) and Supreme Court Decision (G.R. 213188), and in accordance with the TUCP Constitution and Bylaws.

The Convention elected RUBEN D. TORRES as president; RODOLFO M. CAPOQUIAN as General Secretary; LEONARDO Q. MONTEMAYOR as Deputy General Secretary; MILAGROS C. OGALINDA as Treasurer; and ROLAND DE LA CRUZ as Assistant Treasurer.

The following were elected members of the Executive Board: GREGORIO DEL PRADO, President, Alliance of Independent Unions in Hotel, Restaurant, and Casino (AIUHRC); SUSANITA G. TESIORNA, President, Alliance of Workers in the Informal Economy Sector (ALLWIES); ROBERTO A. FLORES, President, Alyansa ng Manggagawa at Organisadong Pilipino (AMAPO); NORBERTO C. CAPARAS, General Secretary, BPO Workers Association of the Philippines (BWAP); ARTURO A. BASEA, Executive Vice President, Federation of Unions of Rizal (FUR); JESUS B. VILLAMOR, President, Lakas sa Industriya ng Kapatirang Haligi ng Alyansa (LIKHA); CARMEN SOLINAP, Member of the National Executive Board, Nat’l Congress of Unions in the Sugar Industry of the Phil. (NACUSIP); DAVID L. DIWA, President, National Labor Unions (NLU); RAMON OJEDA, Vice President for Luzon, Phil. Agricultural Commercial and Industrial Workers Union (PACIWU); ALEJANDRO C. VILLAVIZA, President, Philippine Federation of Labor (PFL); MICHAELA MARVI P. SAGUN, General Secretary, Teachers of the Philippines Public Sector (TOPPS); and ANGELITA G. SENORIN, President, Voice of the Call Center Industry (VOICE).

Additional members of the Executive Board will be appointed in succeeding General Council meetings. Ex-officio members of the Executive Board are Women’s Committee Chair FLORENCIA P. CABATINGAN, Youth Committee Chair MAY ANN TIRANA-GO, and General Secretary Emeritus CEDRIC R. BAGTAS.

The Convention adopted important amendments to the TUCP Constitution and Bylaws to (a) strengthen organising and membership recruitment by welcoming individuals and organizations without collective bargaining agreements as ‘associate members’; (b) disallow splitting of unions, a strategy used in the past in order to gain more seats and votes, and effectively control of the General Council/Executive Board; (c) limiting to one term only, the term of office of elected officers so as to put a stop on dynastic control of the national labor center; (d) establish an Internal Relations and Welfare Board to address internal problems, including the issue of union raiding, and assist affiliates in distress; (e) enable the General Council to create honorary positions, as necessary; and (f) establish clearer succession provision in case of any vacancy in the position of elected and appointed officers.

ITUC AP declared its solidarity with TUCP “for its valiant struggle against those who would foster their own flawed interpretation of freedom of association”.

Solidarity partners, the International Trade Union Confederation Asia Pacific (ITUC AP), the Federation of Trade Unions of the Republic of Kazakhstan (FPRK), and ASEAN Trade Union Council (ATUC) affiliates participated and expressed their solidarity in this important TUCP event.

DOLE Secretary Rosalinda Dimapilis-Baldoz and DOLE NCR Director Nelson Hornilla sent solidarity messages to the Convention.

In a post-convention message, ILO-ACTRAV Director MARIA HELENA ANDRE′ expressed pleasure in learning about the conduct of the Convention.

She congratulated the new leadership noting that “TUCP has always been the major advocate of workers’ rights and better working conditions in the Philippines.”

She expressed certainty that TUCP will maintain this high profile under president-elect Ruben Torres’ leadership, promoting Decent Work for all with great determination and hard work.

Director Andre′ wished TUCP great success and looks forward to working with the TUCP in coming years.

The TUCP, with its new elected officers pledged sustained commitment and action for Decent Work and Equitable Development for all.

(For quires, please call TUCP President Ruben at (+63)908.851.3320. You may also send us an email at rubentorres910@yahoo.com, cc. rodolfocapoquian@yahoo.com, secrtucp@gmail.com, and tucp.education@gmail.com. )

Trade Union Solidarity Campaigns
Get Email from NTUC
Article Categories