Pinoy kids win 35 math, science medals in Indonesia contest

Published by rudy Date posted on November 16, 2016

by ABS-CBN News, Nov 16 2016

MANILA – Young students from the Philippines won a total of 35 medals in an international math and science contest in Tangerang City, Indonesia.

They brought home four gold, 14 silver and 17 bronze medals at the 13th International Mathematics and Science Olympiad for Primary School 2016 (IMSO) held from November 9 to 13.

The Filipino students were accompanied by team leader Dr. Isidro Aguilar, who is also the president of Mathematics Trainers Guild-Philippines, as well as deputy team leader Dr. Eduardo dela Cruz, Renard Eric Chua, Manuel Kotah, Lowela Mupas, Marie Jade Ong and Arvie Ubarro.

Indonesian President Joko Widodo graced the opening ceremony of this year’s IMSO, which also included contestants from Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, China, India, Iran, Hong Kong, Kazakhstan, Laos, Lebanon, Malaysia, Mongolia, Netherlands, Singapore, Sri Lanka, South Africa, South Korea, Thailand, Tajikistan, Taiwan and Vietnam.

Below are the Filipino winners in the said contest:

Raphael Dylan Dalida – St. Mary’s Academy-Pasay
Filbert Ephraim Wu – MGC New Life Christian Academy
Kian Colin Chua – St. Jude Catholic School
Chiara Bernadette Tan-Gatue – St. Jude Catholic School

Matthew Charles Carpio – Agoo Kiddie Special School
Enzo Rafael Chan – Bayanihan Institute
Ethan Cedric Jao – St. Jude Catholic School
Jeremie Keon Torralba – Ateneo de Manila Grade School
Walsh Nico Adrian Letran – St. Jude Catholic School
Alvann Walter Paredes Dy – St. Jude Catholic School
Cassidy Kyler Tan – Davao Christian High School
Sean Matthew Tan – Jubilee Christian Academy
Anika Bettina Bonifacio – Mother Goose Special School System
Kei Hang Derek Chan – St. Jude Catholic School
Noel Stephen Dequito – Xavier School-Nuvali
Justin Timothy Uygongco – Hua Siong College of Iloilo
Sigfred Kerwayne Kwan – Zamboanga Chong Hua High School
Erin Christen Noceda – Special Education Center for the Gifted

John Florence Dizon – Calamba Elementary School Special Science School
Martin Gabriel Lopez – First Asia Institute of Technology & Humanities
Bianca Marie Sacramento – SPED Center for the Gifted
Phoemela Ashley Mari Talabucon – UP Integrated School
James Martin Young – SPED-ISEC
Cris Lorraine Dela Cruz – Bolinao Integrated School
Armea Helena Sien Dimayacyac – Notre Dame of Greater Manila
Julian Patrick Noel Beltran – Butuan City Special Education Center
Denice Sophia Carles – Catbalogan I SPED Center
Jay Miguel Chua – St. John’s Institute
Evgeny Cruz – Palanan Elementary School-Makati City
Hannah Gabrielle Manansala – Colegio San Agustin-Makati
Daniella Sophia De Guzman – East Rembo Elementary School
Katrina Isabelle Dela Rama – Integrated Montessori Center
Patricia Grace Miras – De La Salle University-IS STC
Juan Anton Olpindo – Pasig Catholic College
Mi Jung Pak – Colegio San Agustin-Biñan

April 28
World Day for Safety and
Health At Work

Solidarity with CTU Myanmar,
trade unions around the world,
for democracy in Myanmar,
with the daily protests of
people in Myanmar against
the military coup and
continuing oppression.

#WearMask #WashHands

Time to support & empower survivors.
Time to spark a global conversation.
Time for #GenerationEquality to #orangetheworld!
Trade Union Solidarity Campaigns
Get Email from NTUC
Article Categories